A Message from The Little Prince

This year I read the same book more than 10 times. I read it a chapter at a time with students ranging in ages from 8-14 and after each chapter we would take some time to reflect on what we had just read. Now the book, The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint-Exupery lives in me like few other books ever have, not just because of the extraordinary story it contains, but also because of the incredible observations and insights that my students shared with me as we explored the provocative world of The Little Prince. I will admit as we drew near the end of the book I had some concerns about how they would interpret and respond to his return to his home on his star  , but I needn’t have worried. Antoine De Saint-Exupery was masterful in those closing chapters of his book about a boy who was often confused by our world but discovered and shared the secret to what is really important before taking his leave from it.

It is hard to describe what makes the book so brilliant. The complicated relationship between the little Prince and his rose. The all too familiar caricatures floating about on their own planets that he meets on his way to earth. The lesson the fox delivers about the beauty and heartache of being tamed. The people on trains going nowhere very quickly or the salesclerks and their frightening “water” pills. But I believe what touched me the most about this book was the relationship between adults and children and the lessons and truths we share with one another consciously and unconsciously on a daily basis. If there is an argument to be made for mindfulness and deep reflection in a time of great uncertainty, this is it.

In a year of many departures, this book is also a source of comfort. I first found it here in an exchange between he Little Prince, with hair the colour of wheat, and the fox.

“So the little prince tamed the fox. And when the hour of his departure drew near–

Ah,” said the fox, “I shall cry.”

It is your own fault,” said the little prince. “I never wished you any sort of harm; but you wanted me to tame you . . .”

Yes, that is so,” said the fox.

But now you are going to cry!” said the little prince.

Yes, that is so,” said the fox.

Then it has done you no good at all!”

It has done me good,” said the fox, “because of the color of the wheat fields.”

The Little Prince reminds us that every hello is accompanied by a goodbye, and when they happen too soon, especially in tragic circumstances, it is devastating. But to never have been tamed is equally or even more devastating so we take the risk over and over until our world is filled with reminders of both love and loss, each made more beautiful and painful by the presence of the other.

Earlier this year I was asked to write a song of healing when two young men made their departure too soon and I called upon Antoine De St. Exupery and The Little Prince for help. I didn’t know that before the end of the year I would need to listen to it again…more than once. So I thought I would post it here, in case anyone else is looking to the heavens for its newest star. May you find it with your heart.

Leave a Reply

